SunScreen: Nivea Sun Protect Water Gel Super SPF50 PA+++

20170630_161737.jpgProduct Name: Nivea Sun Protect Water Gel Super SPF50 PA+++ | ニベアサン プロテクトウォータージェル SPF50 PA+++

Brand Name: Nivea

Parent Company: Nivea-Kao Co., Ltd. joint venture between Kao & Beiersdorf.

Cosme Japan Ranking(To date): No.2 for Body Sunscreen

Product Category: Sunscreen (Water Gel type), Primer/Make-up Base

Available Size: 80g Cap Bottle | 140g Pump Bottle | 125g Refill Pack

Official Retail Price: 798 Yen | 980 Yen | 880 Yen (Japanese Yen/Tax Included Price/this price is taken from Matsumoto Kiyoshi’s site)

Official Product Pages: Campaign PageProduct Info | Kao Japan Product PageCosme Listing

Made in Japan

Campaign Video:

Product Info:

An easy-to-use skincare and sunscreen product for face and body that protects against strong ultraviolet rays, this UV gel prevents pigmentation and freckles as well as sunburn. 

This UV gel has a hyaluronic acid and plant extract formulation for a fresh, hydrating lotion sensation that melts into your skin for a smooth and bare-skin feeling.  

  • No fragrance · coloring · allergy tested.
  • Can be removed with face wash and any cleansing agent(soap, body wash, etc).
  • Not resistant to water, sweat or sebum. 

This product is intended for the Japanese market.

Ingredients: 

Water, Ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate, Alcohol, Propylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Ethylhexyl Triazone, Diethylamino Hydroxybenzoyl Hexyl Benzoate, Butylene Glycol, Sodium Dilauramidoglutamide Lysine, Pyrus Cydonia Seed Extract, Geranium Robertianum Extract, Phellodendron Amurense Bark Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Acrylates/C10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, Carbomer, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hydroxide, BHT, Methylparaben 

For a more accurate breakdown of ingredients, I recommended visiting CosDNA.com’s listing.

Purchased mine at Matsumoto Kiyoshi, Diver City Tokyo Plaza, Odaiba, Tokyo, Japan.

Za Weekend note:

From this post onwards I will now include a ‘quick’ section of these product insights – first section will be the ‘quick summary’ section and the second will be my more detailed take that I’ve been doing thus far. Since most blogs are on that fast choppy information trend to keep up these days I’m going to hop on too. Must constantly improve this site! 


Quick Take

rabbit_ani

Best qualities of this product?

High protection, light, quick, value for money, sensation of a watery serum.

What are the not so nice qualities of this product?

None that I can think of.

What does it smell like?

Nothing, unless you hold a bunch of cream right up to your nose and who does that? In the case that you do hold it right up into your nostril, you will catch whiffs of mild cosmetic alcohol.

What’s the texture like? 

Typical Japanese water-gel sunscreen, this one is more fluid, lighter and thinner in consistency(it can drip) that is comparable to a thicker form of hydrating lotions.

This sunscreen is my current daily sunscreen of choice to date. 

20170630_161828.jpg


The Detailed Take

rabbit_read

I remember using this back in 2015 when Nivea Japan reformulated their SPF50 Water Gel product. I saw the ads playing on TV as soon as I checked into my hotel room in Tokyo and then promptly forgotten all about it. That all changed when my sister got this as part of her own haul when we were at Matsumoto Kiyoshi. I was using La Roche-Posay’s Uvidea XL Melt-in Cream pretty religiously and very happily(and still very happily when I do) at that point so my sunscreen radar wasn’t switched on.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When I got back home from that trip, this bottle was lying around and since I needed a body sunscreen, I thought I’d quickly use this up and get it outta’ my sight(was in a ‘rather’ brief minimalist stage). I was in Singapore shortly after and brought this with me since I knew I was pretty much ‘out-out’ everyday. As the days passed I just kept reaching for this over my other preferred body sunscreen at the time which was the Mentholatum Sunplay SPF 50 PA+++ UV Body Mist Sunblock(its upgraded to SPF80 now, if you’re interested). The hydrating formula doubles as a light layer of moisture for the body, who has time to apply two products?

nivea1

I love it when I fall in love with a product unexpectedly, it definitely feels more genuine(sounds like a relationship). I remember the product being nearly finished at 1/10 before I actually tried it on my face and I was like man, my face has been missing out. It has this watery gel texture that that just absorbs in a second and voila – done, grab your bag and leave the bloody house. I spend most of the time putting on my face before I head out, putting on sunscreen all over my body? Not so fun. But with this, its a hell load easier and a heck of a load more pleasant since it has no tacky texture at all. All you’ll feel is your skin feeling refreshed and it soothing dry areas, encouraging you to apply it everywhere.

Not being water-resistant though, means that this product isn’t suited for more outdoorsy activities. So those days you can bring out the heavy stuff like the Sunplay spray for more bullet proof protection. This is a good pick daily life of hopping in and out of the office, spending time at home then grabbing your keys to head to the supermarket.

nivea2
To make sure my face is adequately protected, I draw a line of product on my middle finger. This roughly translates into 1.5ml/1.5cm x 1.5cm worth of product that is recommended for full protection. I learn’t this trick reading Paris B’s MyWomenStuff blog.

When I’m in a super rush after waking up, I slather this on after a quick cleanse but this isn’t moisturising enough and my face will feel little tight. With the tropical climate here, I use this as my day-moisturiser since if I’m not in a rush, my face would be fine since I would’ve applied a hydrating lotion before. Nivea and other Japanese sunscreen brands provide the more moisturising versions in the ‘essence’ or ‘milk’ formats, but I prefer this version(to date) since I feel that this gives me more flexibility and control in terms of my skincare layering process. There are some Japanese water-gel sunscreens that I find great on application, but they sort of dry you out after some time; this does not do that for me, it maintains it.

But basically, if you’re around an air-conditioned room or a cooler climate majority of the time, you’re going to need a separate moisturiser. I’ve used this in London in the wintry months on my face along with a heavier moisturiser and I didn’t experience any issues. And this is what I mean by ‘control’ over my skincare layering process, I know that if I use this; I will have sun protection, but I don’t have to worry about it disturbing the rest of my routine since its so damn unnoticeable in terms of finish & sensation. With the amount of sunscreen you need to apply to obtain maximum coverage, this is a fantastic pick since no matter how much you apply, it’s just as if you haven’t applied anything on once it absorbs(apart from pumped up hydration levels, of course). 

I also use this sunscreen around my eye area, and yes it does mitigate into your eyes eventually, but it only does this when day-time is actually ending for me personally and I have combination oily skin. By the time it does cause some eye-discomfort, the day’s up and you should remove it or you should be re-applying if needed(like half day?).

They claim you can use it as a make-up base, although I’m not quite sure what actual benefit this will provide you make-up performance-wise. This does not have any pore smoothing or sebum resistant benefits as typical primers have. What it does do is give moisture to the skin and plumping it up for make-up.

I actually prefer the now discontinued Nivea Sun Protect Water Gel SPF 35 PA+++(I haven’t tried the new version of this product) over this, it was a lot more similar to Skin Aqua with a more plush and moisturising formula minus the slight tackiness the Skin Aqua had. When I was in Tokyo early this month, I saw repackaged version of the SPF35, but I didn’t get new ones since I had 2 bottles of this Nivea SPF50 that I had bought the end of last year to use up.

Anyway, this post is too long. All in all, a great product.

20170630_165116
Tulipe Doree Whitening Milk Cleanser, Meishoku Bigansui Medicated Skin Lotion, Naturie Skin Conditioner, Nivea Sun Protect Water Gel Super SPF50 PA+++, Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage SC3 around nose area, Quick swipe of Charlotte Tilbury Colour Chameleon in Amber around top lashes.

JurassicKae

Disclaimer: All pictures that are taken by myself in this post are not not retouched apart from lighting adjustments. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

